mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Mountain Biking in Kansas City

My gf moved to Kansas City, MO. I will be visiting her periodically, and was looking for some suggestions on places to ride in the area. Info on where to rent a nice bike (full suspension, 29er, 650b) would be good too...

Thanks

mtbr member
    Don't know about bike rental, but here are some places to ride.. https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=U...22fafe2444bb58

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    The trek store up there i believe does rentals
    Bike Rentals - TrekBicycleStores.com - Bikes, Cycling Clothing, Gear and More
    there is a list of the bikes and the locations that have the rentals.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I am new to the KC area and also new to MTBing but I have been riding at Swope park when I can. Was riding blue river but enjoy Swope a lot more. There is also a park just east of KC called Landahl that I hear is the best in the area but have yet to check it out. Here are a couple links I have
    Trails | KCBike.Info
    ERTA - Earn Your Dirt!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Landahl was great, as is the area in/around Minor Park (maybe called Blue River). Those were my two favorites before I moved to Colorado. Landahl was my favorite because Minor is in a shady-feeling area, though the trails are stellar. Avoid Shawnee Mission trails- there are six zillion ticks there...they fall from trees and wait on bushes/grasses by the trails, and then launch themselves as you ride by. One time, I must have had a couple hundred tiny (even hard to see tiny) ticks on me. I felt the big ones but the small ones were scary. They were really hard to see. They were inside my socks and insoles by the dozens and dozens.

mtbr member
    I have to go out there for work in October and been looking for trails. Here is a link to the site I have been using.
    Mountain Bike Trails || SINGLETRACKS.COM

mtbr member extraordinair