Snap Crackle Pop

Camping @ West Branch State Park (OH)

Just wondering if anybody could comment on the camp facilities there? It's about an hour and a half from me and that would be pretty cool for an overnighter or weekend getaway to bike and hike. I have a small pop-up camper or sometimes we just camp in my Honda Element (the wife doesn't like to sleep in a tent ) Since I am just getting into riding I am hoping to hit a few of the local state parks (with trails) that might not have considered doing prior, so any recommendations would be great!

Hermit
    The campgrounds are okay - nothing special. The sites are along the north side of the reservoir. Last time we camped there a group close to us was up all night with a bonfire, drinking beer and being very LOUD. There are no rangers there at night, so whatever happens you just have to deal with. This seems to be the case anymore at any State Park in Ohio - I had the same experience at Beaver Creek. But the campground is pretty close to the mtb trails, only like a mile ride on the road.

Don't know where abouts you're located, but for other riding/camping spots try Findley SP, Mohican SP, Lake Hope SP, even Beaver Creek (though the trails aren't as good). If western PA isn't too far you might try Moraine SP. If you like backcountry camping try riding in to camp at Kennerdell, PA.

As for getting the wife to be comfortable camping, have you tried one of those queen size air mattresses in the tent? They aren't too expensive, inflate quickly with the air pump and actually are pretty darn comfortable. Another thing you might try would be a decent cot, though some aren't that comfortable at all.

Good luck.

Steve Z
    Pedaling when it's dry
    And paddling when it's wet

My insignificant blog:
    http://swampboy62.blogspot.com/

Snap Crackle Pop
    Quote Originally Posted by swampboy62 View Post