Keep on Rockin...

Passing thru the UP, riding advice needed...

I'm looking for some of the better rides as I pass through the UP. I coming from PA to go to northern WI. First day of driving will get us to around Sleeping Bear Dunes where we'll stay overnight. The next day we'll be going through the UP and would like to put in about 2.5 hours of riding that day.

I'm looking for 2 things in the riding. First, single track. No dirt road riding. I've been riding for 15 years and I'm bringing the geared FS bike and I want challenging trails. (I'm leaving the rigid SS at home.) The Marquette area looks promising. Can you name a few trails that might hit the spot?

The other thing I would like to get is some nice views of the big Lake. I'd trade in a bit of single track quality if it meant getting out in the woods to take in nice scenery (but I still don't want too much dirt road riding.) Copper Harbor looks like a good spot for that. It would be a bit out of the way but based on the reading sounds like it might be worth it. I'd rather not be riding in a park in a town if you follow. I'd like to feel like I'm in the woods.

Munising will be on the way too so if that would have better offerings I'm game.

Climbing and decending are good but I get plenty of that here in PA. Windy, scenic, sinlge track is I'd like the most.

Thanks,

Mike

Black Sheep rising
    Go to mmba.org and look up user Di_bear. She knows the area quite well. She will likely be able to help you out.

Good luck and have fun!
    Let the market decide!

N42.58 W83.06

mtbr member

if you are coming through Houghton on US 41

and still have time to ride after coming past all the nice trails in Marquette, then you should try some of the sweet single track at the Tech Trails, Churning Rapids or Swedetown. Down Wind Sports is one of the local bike shops right on 41 in downtown Houghton will give you maps/directions.

Have fun

mtbr member

Wednesday night