Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2011

highland lake and poto comparrison

Hey guys..I finally got to ride highland lake last sunday and it was a challenge compared to riding maybury and tree farm. Question is.... I want to try out poto and what is the comparison between highland lake and poto as far as difficulty wise. I just started riding this summer but have been riding at least 3 times a week or more, so i'm just trying to get my feet wet buy trying out as many trails as i can before winter comes.
    Thanks

Broke as a joke
    Jun 2009
    Strickly my opinion...

Highland's got Poto beat to me by how tight it is. Climbs aren't as rooty, or rocky in my opinion as Poto, but still just as fun. My problem with Poto is that 90% of the trail is 10ft wide. And you always have to slow down in the fast sections because usually that's where a hiker is coming at u from the other direction. I've only seen 2 hikers ever at Highland.
    Some spots are terribly marked at Poto and you'll spend some time trying to figure out which way to go, or asking people which way to go . So I guess Poto's difficulty over Highland:

1. Longer climbs with a few more rocks and roots
    2. Pedestrian obstacles
    3. Lack of trail markings for direction (in a few spots, not all)
    4. There's a sand hill to climb which is kinda different.
    5. Has some sweet views around some lakes, not just all in the woods.

I recommend just riding it. Theyre both great trails. I just prefer tigher ones to scrape elbows on.

DynoDon
    You'll get better at Maybury, and tree farm after riding Poto and Highland, Poto is best on week days (less hikers) you may want to stop for pic ops at Poto, it is scenic, lots of lakes to jump in to cool off there, I don't find the markers hard, Highland, and Poto both have some confusing areas, but once you get past that, they are both great trails, and will make you better.