Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Hi, new here

mtbr member

Hi, new here

Hello everyone. I just moved back to southeastern Michigan and was looking forward to doing some riding. I'm kind of suprised at the lack of trails around the downriver area. I'm planning on hitting Munson tomorrow, and possibly some of the Pinckney/Howell area trails soon. I guess I'd consider myself a beginner, even tho I've been riding since 2002-2003. I just never got a chance to ride enough to improve my skills. I'm planning to change all that this year. I ride a Diamondback Topanga hardtail. It's a decent bike, and has held up pretty good so far. Eventually I plan to upgrade, but I'm sure it will hold up fine. If anyone has suggestions on good trails for the beginner/intermediate rider who isn't afraid to challenge himself, let me know. I'm also on the lookout for a good bike shop. I've been to Al Petri's in Woodhaven, which seems ok.

Thanks
    Steve

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    there are some nice trails in the Novi area, im from milford and i enjoy island lake and a decent new local trail we have.

mtbr member
    Thanks for the tip. I think I've read about Island Lake, it's on my to-do list. I rode the 2 mile loop through the woods at Munson Park yesterday. It was really muddy, but still fun. It's the type of trail I learned on overseas, so it was a good refresher. We have a place in the Howell/Pinckney area, so I'll be looking for trails around there also.

mtbr member
    Did you check out the Michigan Mountain Biking Association at mmba.org? If you go to the trails section you can put in a zip code and see trails in the area as well as links to the trail information. The MMBA has a very active bulletin board where you can find more information about group rides as well.

mtbr member
    I've used the MMBA site to find trail, but haven't really visited the boards yet.

mtbr member