mtbr member
    Feb 2009

best type of bike for michigan trails

hey im new to the sport of mountainbiking. so far ive been to stony creek and riverbends on the trails a few times. from what ive seen there doesnt seem to be anything an xc bike cant handle. is there any need for an all-mountain style bike for the majority of michigan trails? or should an xc bike handle just about everything.

thanks

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Do you plan on riding the 'DH' parks at some of the ski resorts? If I ride in Michigan, it's usually at Fort Custer where a XC bike is perfect.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    dh on a ski resort sounds like a good time, but im mainly just planning on trail riding for the time being.

mtbr member
    Most of the Michigan trails, especially those in the lower peninsula, are just fine using an XC bike. In fact, many riders are using rigid forks since the trails are pretty smooth, especially the trails in the area around you. 29 inch wheels are popular as well.

mtbr member
    Most trails I have been on in Michigan can be handled by a XC bike. I have always been partial to hardtails, but currently find myself with a 4" FS, a rigid 29er and a rigid 26er. I would not want a rigid bike of either tire size as my only bike, as the roots here can be a little choppy. I have also had a 5" FS which was fun but arguably overkill for the trails here.

So my recommendation would be either a hardtail or a 3-4" FS, either 26er or 29er. Give them a test ride and see what you like.

I have red hair
    Steel, hardtail, rigid, 29er, never been happier