Thread: ML8 questions

mtbr member
    Nov 2005

ML8 questions

I have been riding a ml8 for a couple of years now, I ride 2 mtn bikes, ellsworth moment and ml8. I have always been a little frustrated with the steep head angle on my ml8. I was about to put a 650b wheel on the front, and still might, as that would slightly slacken the head angle. I have also heard that you can slacken the head angle by 1 degree with some new part in the head set. Have any other ml8 owners tried this?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by needmorealtitude View Post
    I have been riding a ml8 for a couple of years now, I ride 2 mtn bikes, ellsworth moment and ml8. I have always been a little frustrated with the steep head angle on my ml8. I was about to put a 650b wheel on the front, and still might, as that would slightly slacken the head angle. I have also heard that you can slacken the head angle by 1 degree with some new part in the head set. Have any other ml8 owners tried this?
    ??? never heard about this ...
    Maverick ML7.2 / SC32
    Maverick ML7.5
    Maverick Durance / Duc32
    Maverick ML8 / BOS Devile

French Maverick Breeder

mtbr member
    650b will only make the head angle marginally slacker, as the largest 650b tyre (kenda nevegal 2.35") is only a little 'larger' ([edit]10mm[/edit] diameter) than a modern high volume 2.4" tyre such as the RQ (trail king in the US).

i currently run an ardent 2.4' exo on the front and an RQ 2.2" BC on the rear to tease a little more slack out of the head angle. i also have the above mentioned 650b combo for the front too - that helps again, but it's swings and roundabouts as a big grippy tyre brings other advantages ...