mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Listen! Help for Maverick

Hello everyone!! As you can see I am new here. I am a machinist/fabricator and have helped out a friend of mine with a few things for his Maverick.

I would like to start riding here soon but I thought I would start learning some things first.

How this all got started?

My friend knows that I can build just about anything and has been bugging me to make him a mounting bar for the top of his truck so he can mount his bike on it with out spending a bunch of money. I did a little research and found out that once you buy the brackets to mount on your vehicle there are a lot of other little things you would need to buy just to now mount the bike on the mount? It seems that that you could tie up a lot of money just to get the bike on the truck?

The mount is a few hundred and the all the little pieces. Of course, not all bikes would fit due to the fact of different axle dia. so you would have to buy different applications for that. From what I gather you could easily spend another $300 plus after buying the mounting kit that goes on the vehicle?

So I made it easy and made a piece so that he could just mount the bike via the forks. You just pop off your front tire and mount the bike, I ended up making it hold two bikes so he and a another friend could go to a race in Colorado last month. Everyone that seen it, he said thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread!!

Anyway, he comes to me the other day and says I need a riser block that will fit on my triple trees so I can get more height. Instead of paying another few hundred for a new set of handle bars with more rise in them.

Can you make something that will do that?

I said umm probably. Why dont you just buy it from the company? He said I would have, but they dont make it?

He said he has been asking them for two years and they say they will get to it?

Then I say how much height do you need?

He said probably 3/4" of an inch?