Thread: Spearfish?

mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Spearfish?

Are any of you Mass riders on a Salsa Spearfish? How does it do on our twisty rocky stuff? I recently lost my El Mariachi to theft and am definitely going to replace it with a full suspension bike and the SF looks like a good next step. I've always ridden hard tails until now, but now that I'm living here in the land of rocks I need something to smooth things out.

Thanks

Northern Aggressor
    Jan 2007
    That bikes built for long distance/endurance, west coast riding in my opinion.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Do you mean west coast vs. New England riding because of the 100/80 travel? I know many or most folks here ride bikes with more suspension, but I've been riding (mostly) hardtails since 1991, so anything is going to feel plush to me. My main concern with getting a FS 29er is that it will feel like driving a truck around the trails - that was my experience with the only FS bike I've had - a 2008 fisher supercaliber 29.

Northern Aggressor
    Jan 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by AuntieAPE View Post
    Do you mean west coast vs. New England riding because of the 100/80 travel? I know many or most folks here ride bikes with more suspension, but I've been riding (mostly) hardtails since 1991, so anything is going to feel plush to me. My main concern with getting a FS 29er is that it will feel like driving a truck around the trails - that was my experience with the only FS bike I've had - a 2008 fisher supercaliber 29.
    Nope, I ride a Niner AIR9 hardtail with 100mm fork. That bike's (Spearfish) actually designed by Salsa for endurance racing, and they ride/test/build all their bikes for west coast riding. They make good ****, but I think they're bikes are a little too long and low for out here. Just my $.02, I'm sure there is someone riding an El Mariachi out here that loves it. I just saw alot more of them in SoCal then here, which I think reflects their ideal use (imo).