mtbr member

Relocating to MA (Boston area)

In the near future I will most likely be relocating to the Boston area. Heading up tonight for final interviews for my wife and I both. Hopefully we will both have new jobs in the near future. We are looking at places in Natick and Needham. I am looking for recommendations for a LBS. One with a race team would be a bonus. I am also looking for advice on local trails for after work rides, and not so local places for weekend rides. I like riding rocks. I also like a bit of flow from time to time.
    I went to college in Providence. I didn't ride much while I was there, but occasionally we would go up to Lincoln Woods to ride. Honestly it was more of an excuse to smoke weed in the woods as it was to ride In the 18 years since I graduated from college my weed smoking had greatly decreased, and my skill on the bike has gone way up.

Appreciate any thoughts, comments etc.

mtbr member
    JRA in Medford is pretty well respected by mountain bikers. I live in Arlington and frequent Belmont Wheelworks and they do a decent job as well.

Needham Town Forest has some great technical trails for short (hour+) rides after work. There are also a decent network of singletrack trails throughout Weston & Wellesley that can be linked together.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    JRA has a race team, although they are in Medford, slightly north of Boston. I would suggest a NEMBA membership. Guess you would be South shore chapter or Greater Bosoton there. I'm a NS chapter member. Check out the North shore, Greater Boston and Merrimack Valley chapters on FB. Lots or posted rides as well as trail days and events. I would also recommend the NEMBA racing team. At least to check them out. Cutler woods is near you, Rocks? Come to Harold Parker SF in N. Andover. Plenty of rocks. Could get 40 miles if you connect adjoining properties. Also land Locked Forest In Burlington is right at the 128/rt 3 interchange.

mtbr member