Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Night Time Riding

I am fairly new to mountain biking, been riding for about four months, and have been enjoying some of the trails that SE mass has to offer. But the days are getting shorter and it is starting to get more difficult to get a decent ride in before it gets to dark to see. So I guess my question is, are there a lot of people using lights for night riding in the area? and if so where is the best place to ride at night?

guru meditation
    Yep I just got back about an hour ago, a bit chilly but good riding. I'd get two lights, one for the handlebar and another on the helmet. Dress well for this time of year and blaze orange is good to bring along if out near sunset (hunters). You can pretty much ride anywhere but be careful, some people come back to the car to find a ticket from cops, kinda rare I think. I ride the trails I know the best and stay out a bit less than a day time ride, it's fun and creepy out there in the dark!

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    DCR parks close 1/2 hour after sunset.

Sun Devils
    Jan 2008
    Silly rule when it's dark before and after work for about 1/4 of the year.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by leeboh View Post
    DCR parks close 1/2 hour after sunset.
    We've never had a problem riding or parking at Wompy or Blue Hills after dark.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Bought my first real lite, the first NiteRider meant for biking (it was a converted SCUBA unit at that time) in 1993, been riding in the dark regularly since. I recommend sticking to trails you're familiar with. The added challenge of riding in the dark will make them more exciting than usual.

Only place I can recall being spoken to about not riding at night was Great Brook in Carlisle. Basically it was a Carlisle cop saying 'It's dark and cold and I don't wanna have to come drag your ass out of the woods if you get hurt' sort of thing.

mtbr member