mtbr member
    Jun 2014

New to Mountain Biking as well as forums....

Okay, so Im new to both MTB and forums.... I live Boston and the best I have done is a 20 mile ride along the Charles. Sad I know. I need some trails and some help trying to get out hit much better trails maybe even link up up with fellow bikers. I ride an, entry level Felt Q520 its been good to me for the last two years. I used it to get around town now I been getting more serious about riding.

Any feedback? Like. I said I, still figuring out how forums work. So feel free to hit me with a Q&A or any advice. I appreciate and thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    You have the hang of the forums…keep this in mind:

Forums in general have died down as Facebook Specific Pages and dedicated web pages have siphoned off a lot of the focused traffic on generalized forums. So, look up the Greater Boston NEMBA web page and Facebook page (as well as those of other NEMBA chapters as well) and be sure to post queries there as well.

Also, find web pages of Local Bike Shops and clubs (often one and the same) …nothing will get you more plugged into a local scene as quickly as hitting a few group rides, etc.

Greater Boston/ North Shore and Nearby Blackstone Valley has many, many riding opportunities (Start with the Fells of course), it's a great true cosmopolitan area to get into mountain biking from.

Bike's a Bike, your bike is fine. Eventually you'll buy a new bike, and that will be even more fine. 26er tires can be found dirt cheap these days, if I were making any upgrade on the cheap…it would be putting Fatter, softer, better tires on my 26er entry level bike (like a schawlbe hans damp or some kick but Maxxis minions).

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    The easiest resource for you might be to just drop by a few local bike shops and ask them for some trail maps and where some good beginning/intermediate trails might be.
    Are you really sure about that?

mtbr member