mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Martha's Vineyard trails

• I go on vacation to Martha's Vineyard in the summer and hear their is trails on the island. I have been looking around on the internet and have not really been able to find a good trail review. I looked on you tube and only found one thing for Martha's Vineyard mountain bike trails, it wasn't really a trail either more if a dirt road. Please tell me if you know any good trails, preferably near vineyard haven. I heard something about the trail of tears but couldn't find much about it.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Ewik, TOT (Trail of Tears) is on Cape Cod in Barnstable. As is Willow Street (Barnstable/Yarmouth), Nickerson (Brewster), and Otis (Falmouth). I'm a Falmouth resident and my girlfriend in on the Vineyard for the summers. There is a group who call themselves VORBA (Vineyard Off-Road Bicycle Association), they ride 9am on Sundays. I haven't been able to hook up with them just yet. There are many trails on the island, from deer trail to singletrack to dirt road. It's typically tamer than where ever you come from (I can pretty much assume that). I've ridden my "cross" out there and loved it.

Additionally you have Otis (its right off 28 before you get to Falmouth). I ride there and its a blast. Many flowing singletracks with a good deal of hills and even rocks! I've met guys from the island there.

If you can spare time in Falmouth I'd recommend Otis (or any of the other trails I listed, plus more), check with Cape Cod NEMBA (Facebook is the best bet) or PM me for a tour there. As for the Vineyard specifically, google VORBA, you'll get some contact info and where/when they meet.

Also, I'll likely be on island most weekends and will be looking to explore more of the trails there.

Professional Hobbyist