Professional Lurker

Info about Worcester

I will be moving to Worcester in June for residency at UMass, so I'll be in the area for five years or so. Right now I'm in Birmingham, AL so it will be quite a change of scenery/climate. Any advice on trails to ride, bike shops to trust, groups to ride with, etc?

Background: I am a beginner/intermediate level rider, and I currently ride a hardtail.

Thanks for your help!

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Welcome to Massachusetts! I work in Framingham and have lived in the MetroWest area in the past. I hear rave reviews for Bicycle Ally in Worcester for a good shop www.bikealley.com

For riding - a good beginner/intermediate place to go is Callahan State Park in Framingham. Some nice singletrack mixed with fireroads. Very dog friendly too if you have a mutt. If you want to try something a little tougher - Vietnam in Hopkinton is pretty sick! Check out Bikerag and click on trail reviews for more info about those places (and more).

Shoot me a PM with your email address and we can hook up for a ride sometime when you get out here. Me and some buddies ride Callahan on Thursdays after work. Don't worry - we aren't pros by any stretch of the imagination.

Professional Lurker
    Check your PM, oddestfellow.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    also check out leominster state forest and rutland state park.

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by YellowLab
    Check your PM, oddestfellow.
    Cool. I PM'd my email address over to you. Talk to you when you get out here!

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by massbike
    also check out leominster state forest and rutland state park.
    How is Leominster? (pronounced "Lemon-ster", for our friend YellowLab who will be new to the area) I haven't heard of that place before. What type of terrain? Singletrack? Doubletrack? Fireroads? Just curious.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006