mtbr member
    Apr 2012

First winter riding. Tips?

Hi guys,

I started riding in April, after not being on a bike for 15 years. I've been traveling for the last several weeks and haven't managed to get out. What tips do you wish someone had given you re: riding in the winter/snow/ice? Currently running Ardent 2.4 front/2.25 rear on a 29er. Will that work for most winter stuff? A fat bike is out, but I could go studded if necessary. Any weird technique things around winter conditions? I primarily ride Willowdale, but have ridden LLF several times recently.

Sun Devils
    Jan 2008
    I moved here from Arizona about 3 years ago. It really wasn't too hard to get used to winter riding, it still takes 2-3 good snow rides to get used to it, especially since last year we had 0 snow riding. The biggest up grade I made was 100% wool socks, ski gloves, and no cotton clothing. I pretty much run ski gear when I'm riding below 20 or so degrees.

Otherwise have fun and try to avoid riding on days when you'll do a lot of trail damage.

mtbr member
    I think the name of the game for snow riding is to keep your momentum as even and smooth as possible. Accelerations and decelerations need to be kept to straight and flat sections and all other areas you want to keep pedaling, but with just enough force to keep the rear wheel at a pretty constant speed. You can take a corner a little too hot, but don't consider braking in the turn. Either put a foot down and slide around or explore a new off trail section as you come to a straight stop...
    That seems to work for me. I'm running the same tires as you (except a 2.2 in front) and they've handled pretty well. They wouldn't be my favorite pick as they have held on to some of the stickier snow and a friend with Trail King's seemed to fare much better, but they are capable. I've never tried studded tires. I like the slickness a little bit as it really forces me to ride smoothly and plan my lines better...

mtbr member