Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

First time at Lynn Woods

This morning I took the first real trail run in about 4 or so years, so I'm pretty out of shape. I took Route #2 listed on diesel bikes site(great site by the way). http://www.dieselbikes.com/trails/ly...ail_routes.htm

Besides going off the route a few times and looping around, it was easy to follow. Now, my question is, being an absolute beginner, should I be able to do all the climbs on that route? I found myself walking up some really rocky climbs and such, but since that was a "beginner" trail I was just curious.

I also ate dirt and went over the bars on the ledge "steps" after Balanced Boulder I think it was. Just some scrapes .

I now know that my next upgrade will be clipless pedals since I found my feet slipping off and really limiting my climbs.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    If you're truly a beginner then you should expect to do a lot of walking in Lynn Woods. And unless you're just riding around the reservoir, nothing in Lynn is really for beginners. Once you're off the fire road the climbs littered with rocks and roots are inevitable. You're already ahead of most though since your post didn't say" this place sucks, I'm never coming back" I've been riding Lynn for years and still walk sections. Sometimes I get 'em, sometimes I don't. You're in a good place though being a beginner. You'll be cleaning new stuff with each ride and that confidence will get you down those tricky sections like after balancing boulder. Definitely try to hook up with some riders where you can stay on someones tail. You'll be amazed how a few inches to the right or left can make a seemingly impossible climb turn easy. My biggest improvements have always come from following someone up something or off something that I wouldn't have known to do had they not been in front of me. Good thing about Lynn is there's a group there every night you can link up with. Good luck

mtbr member
    Jan 2006