mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Cape Cod new to MTB

I am new to the whole MTB scene i recently purchased a jamis durango 1 and went for my first ride it was a lot of fun. The people I would normally ride with ride Trail of Tears and Mashpee woodlands and on occasion the trail off exit 7 but is there anything closer to the Yarmouth/Dennis area besides driving up to Brewster for Nickerson?

I am not looking for anything crazy just a decent (quick) ride that I could I fit into the middle of the week without having to deal with all the summer cape traffic. Maybe something not so publicly known.

mtbr member
    For Yarmouth area, there are the trails you've already done off exit 7, about 12 miles total.
    There are also the boy scout trails in and around Greenough boy scout area in YPort - 4 to5 miles total.
    There are also trails off Weir Rd/West Great Western in YPort - about 6-7 miles total, but a good workout if you push hard as some of it is pretty challenging, and not well known.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    FWIW,

I think the drive to brewster is worth it as I think the Nickerson trails, when you ride all of them, is the bestriding on the Cape (and the least celebrated).

I'm still always amazed at how much quality riding is squeezed into the wooded hills of the cape!

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    hyannis ponds is close by off mary dunn. some trails are blown out by dirt bikes but for the most part its good fun and an easy loop.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Has anyone ridden the trails at the flax pond conservation area in Dennis off satucket rd right as you cross over into Dennis? I have walked my dog in there in the past and it seems like there are a tone of tiny trails that branch off of one main one.

UPDATE: Nothing special I thought there would be more there but there isn't.
    Last edited by Joedub917; 07-22-2010 at 05:21 PM.

the test dummy