Thread: Andover living

mtbr member

Andover living

I am currently a resident of Northern NJ, just outside of Manhattan. I moved here after growing up and schooling in central NY. My GF and i are growing tired of the area and have been researching for years now where we would like to move. I am not one for change so i would like my next move to be more permanent. I have considered and visited so many places trying to come to this decision from east to west coast, and there is always a piece missing. I am looking for an area where i can have an active social life, afford a decent place within walking distance of a social life, be near trials, and have access to some year round activities (i.e. skiing during the winter, and of course mountain biking). I came across Andover from searching the site here and seeing that it has some nice local trials. So now i ask if people familiar with the area can fill in the blanks. Is there a decent young scene there (i am nearly 28)? Is there a decent amount of bars and restaurants? Is skiing far? Any chance of kayaking? How is the Boston/Andover commute. And what is the area of N Andover / Andover i should be looking at for apts. It looks like a pretty sweet area and 2/3 of my family has ended up in Mass, and that would be cool to be closer to them too. I just got into MTBing this year and know it will be a part of my life from here on out, and am planning around that. Please help. And thanks.

ADDED: I see that this regional forum doesn't as nuch attention as NJ's regional section, so if there is another fourm that i may get more results, please point me in that direction.
    Last edited by idbrian; 11-14-2006 at 10:35 AM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Yo idbrian,