mtbr member

Marin Quake 7.??

I have been looking at these and have been on the fence about wether or not to invest. I wanted to know from people who actuall own and ride them what they think. I currently have a Haro X7 with DHX air and 66RC up front that I use as an AM / Trail bike. I want something that will go uphill and can take a beating on the way down. I am no pro or bad a$$ but I will look for whatever I can find on the way down to hit and with gear I am about 195 lbs. I have been thinking about a bottle rocket or an sx trail but the Quake has caught my eye and I wanted to know how well the ride both up and down. I live in western NC and so I have to climb to earn my DH fix but sometimes I cheat and burn some fuel. Either way I am just liiking for a reasonably priced bike that will climb and can take the DH.
    Let me know if you guys think this fits the bill.

mtbr member
    1st -- sure, l'm a Marin dealer so it might sound bias.

2nd -- see below some deals we'll ship (2011's are pick up only).

3rd - been riding bikes since 1971 -- been riding freeridey stuff since 1998 -- seen a freeride bike or two.... l don't beat around the bush.. if l don't like it, l'll tell ya... and l'll explain why. l have seen enough bikes, l know what's good and bad about designs.

You mention the climbing thing. That's one thing that really stands out about the Quake. It's sick how well they can climb. Sure the weight of a 40lbs bike will set you back if you're climbing a 4 or 5 mile climb up the back side of a mountain with your XC buds but, once you reach the top, you'll drop em fast on the way down. The bike handles all freeridey aspects extremely well. no need to throw out all the freeride terms -- it does everything very well.