mtbr member
    Sep 2009

MARIN QUAKE 7.1 SET UP Help:(

Hi Firstly I am a little over weight and bought a Marin QUAKE 7.1 to help me get fit and grow as my abilities get better. But I am such a novice and have no idea how to set the Marzochi AM4 front and Marzochi ROCO TST R (coil) rear and just wondered if any one could answer a few questions

1. my front forks feel a little notchy just at the top as you start to push down is this normal?

2. they also make a sound is this normal

3. been told to change the oil anyone got instructions for this.

4 The ROCO tst r manual it a little vague about rebound it says any more than 5 mm and it could break the spring retainer but 5 mm from where? If it means the end the shock then it has about 20mm.

Really sorry about all the questions but I am brand new to world of full suspension if any one could answer them in lamens terms that would be amazing

Thanks In advance

mtbr member
    1st -- is the bike brand new?

If it is, there's a fair amount of time before it will start to sound/feel normal:

per Zoke --- 10 hours

2nd: Zoke is nitorious for putting forks out there with low, or no oil in the forks. You should at least check it. We often use motorcross fork oil which is much cheaper and a better product.

3rd -- By the way, you'll get more feedback on the fork and rear shock going to the regular FR/DH section of MTBR. Beware, you'll get thrashed on if you don't ask the right questions.
    Feel free to PM me some input on the suspension.

Yes -- they do take a fair amount of fiddlin' before they'll feel normal and there's no doubt you'll do a pretty good chunk of riding you'll be doing before the products get broken in.

4th -- what's a little over weight? are we talking to the point where you might need a heavier spring on the rear shock?