mtbr member

Solar Storm X3 just in

$29 shipped from China via ebay..here in a little over a week...WOW!

A bit heavier than the X2 seems brighter and has a slightly wider beam pattern...will post up a shot this weekend and hopefully get some trail time within the week. I am using it with my bastardized Hunk-Lee Samsung 18650/ebay battery pack. Not sure I like it more than the Yinding just from the beam compare in the garage...the X3 is so white compared to the Yinding and much larger/heavier. For $28 I wanted to have another complete set as either a loaner or for one of my sons. Looks v. well put together..only issue was that it was missing 2/4 of the small screwes that hold on the face plate. They are tiny so not sure where to get those. I emailed the seller through ebay to see if they would drop a few in an envelope to me. It doesn't compromise the light so not a big deal.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Re: Solar Storm X3 just in

Photos please
    Don't mean to be rude are you addicted to buy a lights

mtbr member
    I have the D/X version of the SSX3. While it's bright most of the light shines very forward. Great for a road bike but for Mountain biking I tend to prefer a little more peripheral light-spread coming off the bars. With this in mind I've come to the conclusion that for bar mounting, lamps that use optics ( vs. reflectors ) are better suited for mountain biking.

What I'd like to see is a poor man's version of the Gloworm XS. Basically a straight line triple XM-L2 lamp using optics....or to put another way, a three-up Yinding. D/X sells an Ultrafire straight triple version with optics but the lamp aesthetics are very poor. I'd much rather buy a Yinding version IF such a lamp were available. Now if someone could make something like that and include a stepless menu option I would be on that like a CAt on a salmon cake.

mtbr member