mtbr member
    May 2013

Single Track Night Ride Light Suggestions

This is my first time to the forums, so I apologize if someone else has asked this. I've been mountain biking for a couple of years, but not night riding so it's time to start. The trails we ride are very windy and fast, so I'm looking for as good of light as possible with out braking the bank. I think I want a handle bar and helmet light setup. Trying to set a budget of $500; I'm ok with buying one of the lights now and the other later. Was wondering if you were to invest in lights would you put a nicer brighter one on your handle bars or helmet? Some of the options I've looked at are Light & Motion Seca 1700, Serfas True 1500, or Magicshine MJ-880. Let me know any other suggestions.

mtbr member
    Since you're new to mountain biking and want to consider night riding for the first time it would be a good idea to start at the entry level. No need to spend big money till you are sure you like riding at night. Thankfully you can get really bright/useable lights without breaking the bank.

I always recommend getting two lamps, one for the bars and one for the helmet. Whatever you choose you should be looking for lamps that use the Cree XM-L ( or XM-L2 ) emitters. Right now popular choices for the bars are the new Solarstorm X2, FandyFire ( or Ultrafire ) D99, and the MJ 880 clones. These lamps use duel XM-L's ( either T-6 or U2 bin emitters ) and have either 3 or 4 modes depending on which you buy. Prices range from $34 ( lamp head only ) to $55 ( with battery ).