mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Serfas TSL-1500 or something else

I am new to night riding and looking for a light. I plan on using something on my bars and helmet for riding for 2-3 hours on trails but I'm going to only buy one light first to see how I like riding in the dark. I have no idea how much light output I need. My LBS just advertised a special for the new Serfas TSL-1500 for $300, which looks like $100 off of MSRP. I have been looking in stores and online. I haven't been impressed with what most bike stores have in stock (nothing over 200 lumens). The baja designs Strykr seems nice, so do the new NiteRider minewts that are coming out soon. I haven't been in a hurry to buy a light yet because I usually ride from 6pm-9pm and I will have enough daylight for that for a couple more weeks. But.... this heat wave we're in is making me want to change my riding to 8pm-11pm so I kind of want to jump on this deal my LBS is offering. I won't if Serfas's lights have been junk in the past but the numbers seem decent on it. I may be jumping the gun since this heat wave is almost over and it looks like rain tomorrow. Your thoughts please....

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Hi Jay. Night riding on the trails is thoroughly enjoyable - you'll find this out soon enough.

Not sure entirely what your budget is but generally speaking, folks usually opt for a bar light with more flood and a helmet light with more throw.

There are literally loads to chose from unfortunately and it can easily become overwhelming.