mtbr member

Serfas lights...specifically True 500?

Ok, now that I am elbow-deep in looking at lights, I am going to expand my options beyond the online budg-o options from Magicshine and Gemini. My LBS carries Serfas and they look like a high-quality unit. I am specifically interested in 2 True 500s; 1 bar mounted and 1 helmet mounted. They look cool and at 500 lumens, they should be fine (please chime in). I like the single unit but am concerned about run-time; less than 1.5 hours on high is pretty crappy but you can buy extra batteries. The True 1000 is out of my budget b/c its nearly $300 and I would still have to add a helmet light. Any thoughts on these lights? Finally, I am not comfortable with the lumens numbers as I am coming off older lights from the 90s (Vistalite...1 10w helmet with a 10w/15w on the bar) and have no idea how many lumens those were. They were sufficient for night riding.

Thanks,
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I'm not totally familiar with the Serfas brand but 500 lumens should be adequate, especially if you have a bar and helmet mount. Be sure to check the flood of each lamp to see if it meets your needs. You'll want something with a wider beam for the bar rather than a spot. Also, wattage and lumens are totally different units. Wattage is simply the power requirement to run the lamp where as lumens are an actual measurement of light output. I've used a NightRider 350 and it kicks ass. The 600 is even better. Good luck.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    I have heard that as the battery gets low the light starts to dim. This would not be good out on a ride that might have some technical stuff towards the end of the ride. I couldnt even get through my regular 2 hour night ride with one of them.

swag ho Administrator
    Review is here with a very flat lumen/hour graph.

It's a great light!!!