I like turtles

Are self-contained lights the way of the future?

Just picked up a Light & Motion Urban 500 for $60 off the Amazon for use on urban-type CX rides etc. Man, it's small and light and bright! They make 1000 lumen versions for $130. Issue to me is the run time at 1.5 hours vs. more traditional lights like my Gemini kit that will run for 3+ hours. What do you guys think of the current crop of self-contained lights? These L&Ms sure like high-quality.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro are #@$%

mtbr member
    [QUOTE]
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Just picked up a Light & Motion Urban 500 for $60 off the Amazon for use on urban-type CX rides etc. Man, it's small and light and bright! They make 1000 lumen versions for $130. Issue to me is the run time at 1.5 hours vs. more traditional lights like my Gemini kit that will run for 3+ hours. What do you guys think of the current crop of self-contained lights? These L&Ms sure like high-quality.
    1.5 hr. runtime just doesn't work for me either. Luckily there are lots of options currently for self-contained with increased runtimes. All the Ituo self-contained lights will run over 2 hrs. on a charge. I own a Wiz20 which has the shortest runtime of ituo's lights @ 2:15 but it makes about 1400 actual lumens so I use 50% power most of the time and have gotten more than 4 hrs on it before the battery light turned red. My other self-contained lights include a Ravemen PR900 (2.5 hrs. on high), a 250 lumen $20 Rokkes (4 hrs. on high) and a Taz1500 (1.5 hrs. on high) that never gets used because of the short runtime and a few other issues. Gloworm's CX lights run about 2.5 hrs. and I'm sure there's more out there.
    Mole

RAKC Industries
    Jan 2017