mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Responsive all purpose bike light

Hi, I'm a third year student at University currently carrying out a project designing a responsive bicycle light, mainly aimed at mountain biking, but that is also versatile for use on the road.
    The concept is to have a mode that uses a light dependent resistor to alter the headlight intensity depending on the light conditions. The original idea was generated from mountain biking in the day, to illuminate dark patches on the trail caused by tree shadows. However the other intention is from cycling on roads with street lights, to turning onto an unlit path or trail, without the need to toggle between modes. Maximum intensity would be around 1000 Lumens for trail riding and turning to a single LED for road riding.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, and is vital to ensure I design something useful!
    Thanks,
    Mark

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by MWILFORD View Post
    Hi, I'm a third year student at University currently carrying out a project designing a responsive bicycle light, mainly aimed at mountain biking, but that is also versatile for use on the road.
    The concept is to have a mode that uses a light dependent resistor to alter the headlight intensity depending on the light conditions. The original idea was generated from mountain biking in the day, to illuminate dark patches on the trail caused by tree shadows. However the other intention is from cycling on roads with street lights, to turning onto an unlit path or trail, without the need to toggle between modes. Maximum intensity would be around 1000 Lumens for trail riding and turning to a single LED for road riding.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, and is vital to ensure I design something useful!
    Thanks,
    Mark
    this idea basically SUX, i can explain why if you want.

on the other hand there are some clever lights that determine bike speed and adjust output depending on speed.