mtbr member
    Dec 2008

Piko TL Max, Light & Motion Taz 1200 or Exposure Toro

I am currently looking for a new torch style light for my bars. I am currently running a Lupine Piko 3 for my helmet light and have narrowed my search down to the 3 following lights for the bars.

Lupine Piko TL Max
    Exposure Toro
    Light & Motion Taz 1200

I've seen the L&M Taz in person, but did not get to see the beam b/c it was during the day at the LBS. I know that Lupine's and Exposure build quality are also both bery good.

Does anyone have personal experiences with any of the 3 lights above?

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    ok, don't go crazy with the replies.. Does anyone have any thoughts on any of these 3 lights?

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Speaking from personal experience:
    - L&M: the best beam pattern of all of these lights, however reliability is questionable. I've had some bad experience with an Urban model, so I would think twice before buying anything from L&M. YMMV.
    - Exposure: I love my Diablo, which is the same as the Toro with a smaller battery. The beam is perhaps not the best for bar mounting, but it has some accessories the others don't, for example, a remote switch, which is a requirement for bar lights IMHO.
    - Lupine: good, but not wide beam pattern, best quality & service, pricey. But you know this already...

What are your expectations? Are you going to use the lights on or off road? How important is the price? Do you need backup batteries? These are all going to affect your decision.

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    I plan on using the light off road. I am looking to replace a L&M Seca 700 I currently have on the bars and I am generally looking for something brighter with a better throw. The L&M beam pattern seems to be too low and I don't have good coverage in the midddle line of sight. I am using the Piko on my helmet.