mtbr member

Ok...please explain the battery thing and how to test them

Alright...I am turning into a light nerd. For the batteries, how do I tell what I have in terms of output, etc.? I see the 4400mah ratings, but this doesn't mean much to me. How do I check my cheap-o Chinese batteries to see what I ended up with? What is the issue with the cheap-o Chinese chargers that come with them? They get really warm during charging. Any simple answers/advice would be appreciated. What kind of meter do I need to get?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    To test the capacity you have to measure the current draw from the battery and then measure the amount of time the light stays on. So if you have a light that draws 2.0 amps (i.e 2000 mA) from the battery and the light stays on for 2 hours then you have a 2h* 2000 mA= 4000 mAh battery. A complicating factor with this method is that the current drawn may be, or probably will be, affected by the voltage of the battery pack. As the energy is withdrawn from the battery pack, the voltage drops. This voltage drops then causes the led driver to draw less current in some cases. So the current draw would have to be an average current over the whole discharge cycle. You're basically trying to measure the total area under the current-vs-time curve.

An easier way is to buy a hobby charger meant for RC cars and planes. Those can measure capacity by discharging the battery pack in a similar manner. They do the calculation for you. I think they may also measure the capacity by calculating the charge put in the battery during a charge cycle. I don't own one, but this is what I gather from reading on the web.

Edit: sorry for the bad grammar, I hardly slept last night.

mtbr member