mtbr member
    Nov 2011

Newbie quetion here

HI ALL,

As a newbie here, I have some quetion about the bicycle light or headlamp.

The floodlight or spotlight is for the bicyle night riding, which are all preferrable?

want to buy a light? but the first time to buy the bicycle light, so want to know which is better for night riding, spotlight or floodylight

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by starthere View Post
    HI ALL,

As a newbie here, I have some quetion about the bicycle light or headlamp.

The floodlight or spotlight is for the bicyle night riding, which are all preferrable?

want to buy a light? but the first time to buy the bicycle light, so want to know which is better for night riding, spotlight or floodylight
    Try not to go with either extreme with a single light. You need a good compromise between the two beam types in a single light unless you're only ever doing very slow riding, then the flood will suffice. Typically, in a two-light setup, the helmet uses a beam tending toward spot, while the bar would be home to the wider beam.
    Cheers

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Thanks for your reply
    GOOD information for it.
    Are there any more information about the problem

night riding enthusiast

Smile

IANAX but here are some words I found useful when I started down the (single)track towards bike light nirvana.

Bar light : A light suitable for the handlebars.
    Headlight / headlamp : I light suitable for helmet mounting.
    Lid : Your helmet.

Throw : This is the ultimate distance a light can illuminate.
     adjectives: Unrivalled (!), Excellent, decent, punchy, distant, unimpressive, lacking, poor

Hotspot: This is the brightest point of light usually at the centre of the beam. It is important in describing whether a light is ultimately "spotty" or "floody".
     adjectives: Massive, wide, well-defined, tight, narrow, tiny, indistinct, non-existant.