Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    100% PRIME ALBERTA BEEF

Nervousness Riding at Night...

Were any of you veterans a little nervous about night riding (in the mountains) when you first started out? I have been riding very seriously and continuously for well over 20 years now, but whenever I have got caught out at night in the mountains, things have turned to panic pretty quickly, even though I have had lights (albeit $hitty lights) to help me limp back out to my vehicle.

Itís the wildlife mostly that I fear (I have all sorts in my area of riding, including cougars and grizzlies). I have googled the issue numerous times but canít seem to find any information on whether animal encounters/attacks are more prevalent at night.

Also, I fear the thought of spirits, spooks, ghosts and other similar undesirables who may be roaming the woods late at night...

I donít know how you guys do it, especially solo.

That said, this is the year I am going to try to confront my fears by doing some night riding with my daughter. I will try to go on full moon nights (hopefully thatís a good idea) and to areas where I think others may be riding.

Any of you guys nervous at night compared to daytime, or do I just need to grow a pair?

mtbr member
    Jun 2017
    I love the night. Always have. Noncorporeal entities don't bother me and the only creature I truly fear walks on two legs.

I do a lot of moonlight rides.

I will say I have powerful, high quality lights if I want, but I prefer lights out or low light.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by mtnbkrmike View Post

Itís the wildlife mostly that I fear (I have all sorts in my area of riding, including cougars and grizzlies). I have googled the issue numerous times but canít seem to find any information on whether animal encounters/attacks are more prevalent at night.

Also, I fear the thought of spirits, spooks, ghosts and other similar undesirables who may be roaming the woods late at night...