Thread: Need a light

mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Need a light

Just recently bought my first real mountain bike and now I am looking for a budget light for night rides. Would like to find one wide enough for trail riding. Any suggestions?

mtbr member
    You really should have 2; 1 for your bar and 1 for your helmet. The setup mentioned above will work or you could spend around $150 for a higher quality setup from action-led-lights.com.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member

Re: Need a light

Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    You really should have 2; 1 for your bar and 1 for your helmet. The setup mentioned above will work or you could spend around $150 for a higher quality setup from action-led-lights.com.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
    This is the setup I use. I use two Niterider Lumina 700s. Works fine for me.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Zoo1424 View Post
    This is the setup I use. I use two Niterider Lumina 700s. Works fine for me.
    I was thinking of getting the Lumina, is it easy to replace the batteries or do you need to solder the wires to the battery?

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    thanks for all the input guys...from the lights mentioned, how wide is the beam?

turtles make me hot
    The light that I linked to has a beam plenty wide for trail riding. Three of my friends and my stepson each ride with a pair of them.

I use Exposure lights. A lot more money but cordless. Nice feature. I really don't have any more light than them. I can pretty much ride as fast at night as I do during the day.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Need a light

The first one listed for $18 is used by several seasoned riders in our group. They are very bright and perform as well if not better than my $300 Serfas 1500. Thinking of getting one for a spare and for my wife.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014