Squeaky Wheel
    Dec 2005

Magic Shine vs. Dinotte 600L

I have been using a Dinotte 600L for the past two years, and I love this light. I have used it for both Mountain Biking, and my almost-daily wintertime commute to/from work. This light has served me well and has been rock solid.

I've been wanting a second light so that my son could ocassionally night ride with me, so when I saw the Magic Shine for $85, I bought one. I've used it for a couple of work commutes now and thought I would share some impressions and hope that you find this useful.

Packaging, Presentation and Documentation - Winner: Dinotte

Both lights came in a nice box and both were well packaged. The Dinotte came with documentation outlining usage, runtime, battery care, etc. The Magic Shine came with nothing. Not a big deal, but I give the nod to Dinotte here.

Construction and Durability - Winner: Dinnotte

Comparing the two lights side by side, the Dinotte is most definitely the more well constructed light. It's body is beefier, the cables and connectors are heavier construction and the battery pack is mounted inside a waterproof plastic case. It's not that the Magic Shine is poorly constructed, it's just that taken next to the Dinotte light, it looks and feels less well-built. The Dinotte has proven itself to me in two years of heavy usage whereas the Magic Shine does not have enough "time over target" yet to make a call.

Weight - Winner: Magic Shine

I don't have a scale to weight them, but comparing the two by hand, the Magic Shine battery and light combination is lighter than the Dinotte combination.

Mounting - Winner: Dinotte