mtbr member
    May 2014

Lighting Guide???

I am relatively new to mountain biking (started riding in January), and a complete greenie to the whole night riding aspect of biking. Is there a basic set-up guide for people like me to get an idea of what works and doesn't?

If not, I have several questions.

How many lights are normally used?
    How many lumens are too much?
    Where should my lights be mounted?
    Is there any special gear (besides the lights) that is needed for a night ride?
    Should I get an extra helmet for specific lighting or just get a removable bracket?

I understand that these questions are mainly opinion oriented, but there should be a basic concept that everything is based off of. Like in archery, there is a basic form that everybody modifies to their own in order to be as consistent as possible. From which (in archery) if you can be consistent, you could be accurate. I just have problems being consistently accurate lol.

Thanks for all the input.

Jody

mtbr member
    Idealy two lights. One mounted on the top of the helmet and one on the bars. Never to many lumens since you can adjust the brightness.

There are several lights on the market it comes down what your needs are.

Check out Lupine, gloworm, gemini, dinotte to name a few.

mtbr member
    Typically 2; 1 helmet and 1 bar.
    Don't worry about lumens too much; I would say 700+ actual lumens per light is about the min to ride off road. The issue is how manufactures measure them and many are overstated.
    See first bullet.
    No other special gear needed.
    This is personal preference; I just leave my helmet mount on in the winter but I have a buddy who has a separate helmet. Not necessary for sure. The mount I use is simple to take on/off.