Controlled Crash
    Sep 2010

Light & Motion - Taz1200 and 800

I am looking to pick up some lights for mtb and possibly an occasional commute. I am thinking of a Taz1200 for the bars and the Taz800 for my helmet. Is this a good setup?

I have no experience with bike lights. I typically ride with a very fast race group and would like to continue to ride with them now that it gets dark early.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I have a 1200. It's a good light but I think too heavy for a helmet. I would work but you'd feel the mass up there.

The Taz 1200 is a very bright light but the run time is somewhat limited. If you need longer run time you need to go with a different setup.

II would use something different for the helmet light. I sometimes use my Urban 500 as it is much lighter. There are other brands with cables to batteries you can keep in your pocket.

But the Taz is better suited for bar mounting I would think.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    If you are looking at all-in-one lights I can recommend the Exposure Diablo for the helmet: it has the best helmet mount ever, great quality, excellent beam pattern, negligible weight. My only gripe is the runtime, but that's the price you pay for not having an external battery.

I've been using my Diablo for more than 2 years now and couldn't be happier with it.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    I would think the Taz would be a better bar mount anyway with the way the optics are set (wide throw and the diffused portion). A spottier helmet option (smaller too) would then be a fine match.

Lugano, what is your thought about the bar mount? Have you used it much on bumpy singletrack? It is the one thing I am the least sure of looking at these lights, as it seems like it would slip/rotate reasonably easily.

Controlled Crash
    Sep 2010