mtbr member
    Sep 2016

Light combo advice.

Hey all,

I am planning on getting some lights for my wife and I to ride at night. Please let me know if this will be a good combo.
    I am thinking of going with an Ituo Wiz XP 2 and a Wiz 1.

What I want to do is mount the XP2 to my helmet and mount the Wiz 1 to my wife's bars. When we ride together it will be just mild trail / double track.
    When I ride single track at night I will take the Wiz 1 and put it on my bars so XP2 on helmet and Wiz 1 on bars. Right now she has no interest in single track at night.

Let me know if you all think this would be a good plan. I am new to the riding at night world and want to do it right, but also need to be cost effective!
    Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RAKC
    I would go wiz20 on the bars. Wiz1 isn't really designed for hard trail use. Mild stuff it's good but I think you'd be disappointed when it comes to shredding singletrack.

I've used mine on trails before and for my on a fat bike in the trails i was in (not techy, really tight and twisty,) it worked great for a light to get me back to the van. But I wasn't trying to set a pr or anything. Was hauling a cordless chainsaw and such doing trail work.

Basically, the first reason for lights is what the wiz1 and 2 are great for. Literally the perfect commuting, bike path, fire road light (fat biking too, self contained lights are always the best when it gets really cold unless you want to stuff a battery pack inside your jacket).

But the second part, flying down singletrack I think the wiz20 is much better suited vs the wiz1 if you like to ride at higher speeds.

Hope that helps.

Sent from my XT1565 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Sep 2016
    Thanks for the advice. Yes that makes sense. Basically I am trying to just get two lights that will work for me on single track and then split them up when I ride with my wife on non aggressive trails. Both will be on fatties.