Controlled Crash
    Sep 2010

Info received here has changed my thoughts on a light setup

A few weeks ago I posted about the Taz 800 and 1200 lights. I have listened to what you said. My current thought is to buy a good powerful flood light for my bars and a weaker spot light for my helmet. W

What do you think of the Light & Motion Seca-1700. The Gemini Duo or the NiteRider Pro-1800 for the bars? I can get a good deal on the Seca and the NiteRider is on sale at REI for $262. Action-Led-Lights has the Gemini for $206.

For the helmet I am thinking of the Gemini P-7 from Action-Led-Lights

mtbr member
    The Gemini Duo on the bars with a P7 on the helmet sounds like a great setup.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    May 2011
    I spent all summer experimenting with different light combinations and it changed my opinion on what works best for me and I thought I'd share my results. For a bar light 1200 lumens (estimated) seemed to be the sweet spot. With a flood anything over that and the foregroung was so bright it limited my distance vision. I have a Gemini Olympia and I see better with it set 2 to3 steps down from max. For a helmet light the terrain I'm riding on makes a difference on what I prefer but It needs to be at least as powerful as the bar light or it gets drowned out and is of very little use. I think the Titan (I own 2) Is a great light and value, but used with the bar lights you mentioned just doesn't produce enough power or throw to be effective. You need something with an xml emitter to compliment these lights.

With the lights you mentioned here's what I recommend.

1) Run The Titam with a action wide angle lens ($4) for a bar light. It produces plenty of power to illuminate the trail in front and around you and with the addition of the action lens gives you a very broad even flood pattern.