Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2007

I suck at riding at night. Any tips?

Like the title states, I'm terrible at this. I ride with the same couple guys and I have no trouble keeping up or leading the group during the day. Nighttime comes, and I bust out the light, and all of a sudden, I'm getting dropped. I've got the best light out of the group, a 1400 Lumen Gemini Duo, so its not the gear. I can't put my finger on exactly what the problem is, but I just feel like my timing is off when riding at night. Any suggestions? I've been riding mountain bikes for over 10 years, but I'm pretty new to night riding.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Wait you only have the one light?
    Is it on the bars or the helmet?
    Are your trails smooth single tracks, fast open fire road descents, or some kind of rocky lumpy terain?

Single light on the helmet is ok for slower smooth single track but blend trail obsticles so it's very hard to pick a smooth line through rocks.
    Single light on the bars is ok for anything strait and rocky but will make you hesitant in the turns.

A combo of two lights works best with a floodyier light on the bars, may a little more lumens then the helmet because the same light is spread over a larger area. Then a more spot light style for the helmet pointed right where your eye normally focus so you can see through the corners.

You don't wear contacts by any chance do you?

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Do you have the light on the bars or helmet?

I have really bad night vision....and it has gotten worse over the years.

If I ride with just a helmet light.....it ruins depth perception and contrast so you can't make out rocks and roots. And dust/ pollen makes it worse.

I now run a 3x clone on the bars....that gives a good flood with good definition.
    And I run a SSx2 ...which is spottier...on the helmet...and I have it set pretty far forward to see ahead, over stuff and around corners.

Huge improvement for me.

mtbr member