mtbr member
    Oct 2005

Handlebar or Helmet?

Been riding for 15 years, but never on single track at night. It's time. Kids go to bed, wife is too tired to care, so I'm out the door at 7:30 to ride from 8:00-9:00 on some local single track.

So, for my first light ($200 budget), should I get a handlebar mount or helmet mounted light? Maybe a convertible light and see what I prefer.

With single track, there are some tight switchbacks to navigate, so that makes me think a helmet mounted light to point it where I want to go. But, it may be nice to have a dedicated light a few feet out in front of me via the handlebars.

Basically, I'm clueless as to what to do for my first set up under $200. Are single beam lights wide enough for single track? All the double bulbs seem very pricey. It seems like the technology has advanced from water bottle holder battery packs; especially for only a few hours; correct?

Sorry for being a newbie here; not new to the mtbr boards, just this one!

mtbr member
    May 2009
    I have found the helmet to be the most important. It is surprising how often a handle bar light is not pointed at the trail. Now if it is a 900 lumen flood, that is different. I have also found some nice LED flashlights with the CREE Q5 bulb on ebay come with handlebar mounts and add some nice fill from the bar. The also are nice when talking on the trail as they don't shine in peoples faces but it doesn't go pitch black.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005

thanx

Quote Originally Posted by kurtisk View Post
    I have found the helmet to be the most important. It is surprising how often a handle bar light is not pointed at the trail. Now if it is a 900 lumen flood, that is different. I have also found some nice LED flashlights with the CREE Q5 bulb on ebay come with handlebar mounts and add some nice fill from the bar. The also are nice when talking on the trail as they don't shine in peoples faces but it doesn't go pitch black.