mtbr member

Does anyone run 2 MS 808s on the bar?

I was thinking of adding a Y cable and a second 808 light head to my setup. Probably need a bigger battery to maintain burn time. Anyone do this? I was thinking I would run the second one as a spot with the OEM lens; my current bar light has the wide-angle lens. I also run a 808 on the helmet.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    I run two 808 style clones on my bars, but I use two separate batteries (redundancy is good). I've opted not to use the wide angle lens, but I tend to point one light further out and one closer in. I usually climb with just one light on medium (the closer one), then fire up all my lights (helmet too) for descents.

mtbr member
    Yes, I do:

But you'll probably cook the battery if you connect two 808s with an Y-cable. The combined current draw will be too high.
    When it's 20 below freezing and the snow lays 10 inches deep, bicycle commuting kind of sucks.

mtbr member
    Ragnar.jensen, do you have any beamshots of that setup?

mtbr member
    So 2 batteries is the way to go or just one larger battery?

mtbr member
    I would go for one large, and one smaller for backup, just in case. Really don't want to be left in the dark because defect in battery pack.

mtbr member
    Specifically, which large battery would you run?

mtbr member
    "Large" one for me would definitely be 2S 5.000mAh LiPo, and "small" one would be 2S 18650.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Specifically, which large battery would you run?
    You need to check out the "BAK Batteries" thread. Leonard is doing runtime tests with the set-up your considering (2 MS 808e lightheds using a y-cable).
    Mole

mtbr member
    Yes, I think two batteries is the way to go.
    I quote from the Caring for your Magicshine battery document from Action Led Lights: