mtbr member

Discussion: Neutral LED's; Advantages and Disadvantages

Since it was suggested that a thread be started on this subject I thought I'd go ahead and start one. Since I have some experience with neutral LED's I will add my thoughts as well. Of course anyone that was doing night rides back in the 90's ( using halogen lighting ) will understand some of the advantages of riding with a "warmer" light spectrum. Anyway, some of my first thoughts;

I'll try to keep it simple. The wider spectrum of light used in the "Neutral White" LED should add another dimension to the sport of "Night Mountain biking". I say, "Should" because it's quite possible that there are going to be some negative aspects as well.

Last night I just happened to be home playing hookie from work. As fate would have it I caught a couple episodes of the series "Brain Games" on T.V. Basically they went into some detail of not only how you see but how the brain processes the information which is also very important. One of the basic facts I learned was, "How little information ( visually ) our brains can actually process at one time AND what the brain does to make up for that fact.

We can sit here talking about the workings of the eye and how the eye functions at night but it's the brain doing the actual work of telling you what you think you see. I'll explain how that might effect night riding. I don't doubt that the softer spectrum of light is going to highlight more natural trail features. I think that will be most useful when riding slow through technical sections. On the faster sections...well, that might work out differently. As such I'm going to speculate a bit based on what I learned last night.

Since I have yet to ride with a high powered ( bar / helmet ) Neutral LED set-up I'm only going to state this as a possible scenario so here goes;