Thread: Cygolite 800

mtbr member
    May 2011

Cygolite 800

So I'm pretty new to night riding. I bought a cygolite 800 for an upcoming 24 hr adventure race. I have no idea how much of that might riding be in the dark.
    Any opinions on if this light is adequate?
    2 hrs on high at 800 Lumens
    15 hrs on low, but at only 100 lumens.

I bought from a local shop that I trust. But I don't know how familiar they are with the extended rides of an AV. I'm not really sure what the best route to go is. I have to buy two sets and have a budget of about $400.
    Any help is greatly appreciated!

mtbr member
    Why do you have to buy 2 sets?

It really all depends on terrain. While climbing and on fireroads/double track, i've been fine with 100-300lm single light (spot or flood works). Downhill fireroad or creeping mild technical singletrack, 500lm, or more, single spot is fine (i'm slow). Any time i get into obsticles on single/double track, i can use my spot+flood MS-816e at full power (maybe 1000lm combined) and can move with a decent pace as long as i am attentive and careful. If i was bombing any trail with chunk, obstacles, ruts, or foliage, i would want at least 800lm spot for distance and a second light on the helmet (300lm has been fine for me) for closer lamination.

That all said, i think 8hrs of illumination at 500lm would be a minimum if moving at race pace on anything more than flat fireroad/double track or climing. Those would be fine with 100-150lm just to see where you're going. I would prefer 2 lights which could be run singly until trail conditions require more light. If its laps, you could have batteries in the pit area.