mtbr member

Current consensus on cheap-o Chinese 3x clones (MS-872 type)

Are these dinosaurs now compared to the Solar Storm X3 types? I see lightheads only going for under $20 on eBay and full sets with batteries for $30.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Still got the light itch, huh? I thought you bought a bunch of lights.

Are you talking about the infamous 3-xml light with the wacky "one led on, two leds on, three led on" user interface? I've seen those light heads go for around $20. I don't have one but they lasted a long time for some people. They are are bright and still worth buying. I heard they were on the heavy side. I haven't seen a comparison of those to the solarstorm x3's, that would be interesting.

The magicshine 872 clone is a 4 xp-g light. I used one for a long time last year. I bought one for around $33, but I think the price has dropped. Do a search on Chinese flood light and you should find a link that I posted. It still works well and has a nice two button user interface. They are provide a lot of light in the near-field. It's also very even light. They just don't have the throw of a Duo clone or Solarstorm X2. There was one thread where someone posted beamshot comparisons of all of those lights. I even turned it into a gif.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    These infamous 1-2-3-strobe 3-clones can be upgraded for about $4-6 with a new driver to become stepless (the DX driver SKU 231936). It might need some DIY to fit in the driver. These 3 clones are nice mix of flood and throw for a mtb bar light.

mtbr member
    I guess the UI that many people mention doesn't matter to me; I always just run my stuff on high b/c mo' light=mo' betta. I now have 4 lights and adding another for $30 for my kids to use is no big deal..hell...they can attach it to their electric scooter and wiz around the street at night!

mtbr member
    Nov 2013