mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Best set for $100 for someone looking to get started...

Hi Guys,

I'm sorry if I'm walking into this a little uneducated. I've spent some time looking around and reading some reviews but I'm not an engineer and all this talk about heat and changing colors and stuff at this point is just too much. I'm about to pull the trigger on three handlebar lights for my wife and kids (cheaper the better) and the sooner the better as they really want to ride. I just bought four tail lights last night.

Also I'm planning on enjoying some night riding with a new friend so I was hoping to get both a helmet and bar light for myself for under $100 if possible. I can't afford too much right now but would like something that could potentially last a year and when they failed I could then upgrade. I'm a pretty solid soul rider in the Northern Los Angeles Mountains that likes to hit small jumps and single track.

Some of the things I've seen or read about that seem OK (but I'm open to other better suggestions too) are:

Cree Xmi T6 or

CREE 2xT6 LED 5000LM XM-L XML or

JetBeam ST with Cree XM - L - Led or

UltraFire 501B 1000LM CREE XM-L T6 LED.

I have a 2001 Giro helmet (it was top of the line back then) to fit it on so mounting suggestions would be appreciated too. It would be nice not to have the battery wire dangling from my helmet but I do use an old camelback too. Better batteries suggestions too but if the light will last over 2.5 hours without a battery upgrade I'd rather spend that extra dough on a better light.

Your suggestions appreciated in advance!

Smkntrls

mtbr member