mtbr member
    Jul 2011

battery location to avoid injury?

I'm new to night riding and have a concern regarding battery location. Right now I'm riding with a helmet light (preferred due to flexibility and corners), with the cable running through the helmet down the rear. I put the battery pack in a top front pocket so the cable has plenty of flex and doesn't interfere with my view or mobility. This, in my view, provides some safety in the event of a fall since the cable stays with the battery which stays with me. If the battery is mounted on the frame for a helmet light, there's clear risk in a fall that the bike goes one way while I go another and the cable either jerks my neck badly or gets damaged.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for battery location when using a helmet light? My guess is holding the battery in my front top pocket will provide its own special bruise in a fall, lol, but I don't see where else is best (yet). For background, the light I'm using is Light & Motion SECA 1400.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    I started with the battery in my hydration pack. Only a couple times though as it was a PITA to deal with in taking the pack off to get something from it at stops. Now it goes in a back jersey pocket or jacket pocket. One other thing I do is use cables with connectors that just snap together. They will pop apart if the cable got snagged on something or in a crash if necessary.

Best place might be on the helmet itself. My next helmet light will be set up that way. It will mean a smaller battery than I currently use but I'll just carry a spare if the ride is expected to be long.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Thx