Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2007

5x XM-L bike light at DX ...

... and for only USD 36.90, but without batteries
    5 x Cree XM-L T6 3000lm 3-Mode White Bicycle Headlamp - Dark Grey (4 x 18650) - Free Shipping - DealExtreme

I have no personal experience of this light, and I think the light is new at DX.

/Håkan
    SWEDEN

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Holy crap!
    I bet that is going to get China Syndrome HOT!!!!
    And I bet that will make the Xeccon battery put up a white flag.
    I might buy one just to see how strong Xeccon's battery is.....

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    I've seen something like this on ebay, but that included the usual suspect batteries and charger. It has the the UI that nobody wants, not enough levels and a strobe mode in the mode rotation.

I wonder though if there is a tradeoff between the number of leds, the drive current, and the heat generated. For example, do five leds driven at a lower current generate less heat compared to three leds driven at a higher current but with the same lumen output? Does anyone know the answer to this?

My uninformed opinion is that the 4 xml and 5 xml probably generate more heat than the housing can scrub off. They aren't really increasing the surface area of the cooling fins that much.

Both the triple xml and 5 xml have less than ideal UI's in my opinion. The 4 xml UI is good.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I agree with your confusion.
    Or I join in on your confusion?
    I'm confused.
    Yes...the 3x with it's low/med/high/strobe off modes is what you get with a cheap light.
    The one I have has no thermal step down and it gets HOT fast when you stop...so you have to fumble through the modes to shut off or to get rolling again. That's the price you pay for a cheap light.

The 5x here says it goes high/lo/strobe???
    Do all LEDs run during the modes?