mtbr member
    Apr 2008

XPE or XPG into Nightlightning IBlaast?

G'day all. This is my first post, although I've been a member for about a year, but a lurker for much longer. I'm a huge fan of this forum. The combined "know-how" is simply awesome! I'm looking to upgrade my Nightlightning IBlaast from 3 LED's to 4 or more if it's possible. I understand the XPE's (& the as of yet unavailable XPG's) & their associated optics are smaller than the XRE R2's that I could use to make a quad emitter upgade. But I'd like to go better than that. I had imagined a configuration similar to a Lupine Betty; ie, 7 LED's in the mr16 (50mm) IBlaast housing but using XPG's - would 7 XPG's fit?? I'd also like to exceed the 1500 lumens that a Betty produces! Is this do-able or pie in the sky dreaming? I'm an electronics novice, but I'm learning more thanks to you guys. Thanks in advance, I'm looking forward to your input.

mtbr member
    7 might be tricky as the cable hole runs out the middle.
    6 XP-G around the outside would work nicely. 2000lm.
    I assume polymer optics will have something for the XP-G.
    You'll need to make sure it fits height wise too....
    You'll want a new driver....

The housing has heaps of cooling so should be able to handle 20W.

You might be better off selling it and getting a new housing (100 for an MR11, dunno about the MR16) to play with.

Nighlightning love DIY so drop them a line and tell them you want to do something crazy bright!
    DIY LED Bike Lights:
    A few Dynamo builds and some Small battery lights

mtbr member
    Apr 2008