Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2007

upgrade the NR HID to a Trinewt LED?

I've read the compelling reasons of the LEDs over the HIDs. I am thinking of upgrading from a NR Rage to a NR Trinewt for my handlebar.

Rage HID: 275 lumens and 830g
    Trinewt LED: 486 lumens and 519g

Is this a no-brainer? Is there any reason besides price to stick with the HID???

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

LED's

I would go for the LED, significant advantages in most areas over the HID, here is one thing to think about:

I am not very fond of the NR HID Beam (bad artifacts), but in general, the HID may have a wider beam than the Trinewt (I have no experience to back this statement up), but the reflecter dimensions usually dictate the flood width - and it may be the case that you will get more flood with the NR HID.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Not sure about your specific HID since I have not owned it but the Trinewt has a pretty wide beam that I think you will like. Go to some websites to see the beam pattern. acidinmylegs.blogspot is one. That one is run by James at gearreview.

I'm a bit surprised that a HID only kicks out 275 lumens but regardless, the Trinewt will be a big improvement. As far as weight goes, it doesn't matter as much on the bar but we should be looking at the lighthead weight more than overall weight, especially if using a light helmet-mounted.

swag ho Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by mtbdan
    I've read the compelling reasons of the LEDs over the HIDs. I am thinking of upgrading from a NR Rage to a NR Trinewt for my handlebar.

Rage HID: 275 lumens and 830g
    Trinewt LED: 486 lumens and 519g

Is this a no-brainer? Is there any reason besides price to stick with the HID???
    Those lumen numbers suggest the LED light is 80% brighter than their HID. That just doesn't make sense to me.

Most HIDs are 500-600 lumens.

I think the Trinewt will be 30-40% brighter than your old light. Just an estimate.