Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Rep Power Infinity +2

Triple XML Bar Light MK2

Hi Guys. Since I am not an artist I thought I would pick the collective brains of the forum and ask for your opinion on a light I have designed.

As the title say's it is a triple XML driven form a Hipflex or H6 flex mounted in a rear pocket powered by a 14.8v Pack. The optic is a triple cutter medium or spot and it will have a remote handlebar switch with stat led mounted to the rear of the light. The other option would be to use a Lflex with 11.1v pack wired in 3s2p to give better run times.

The mount is custom machined from 5083 alloy and will be secured to the light with a cap screw.

Anyway here is the first revision of the design and I welcome your opinions, good or bad.

As a side not the current design including the mount is 175grams.

Thanks

Last edited by brad72; 12-05-2011 at 12:58 AM.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    I'm no artist either but here's my $.02.

Add shorter versions of the slots on the optic end to the driver end. Symmetry.

Extend the "eyebrow" to the corner of the body. May not be a big deal, but it looks like the current shape may be a bit too minimal.

And as always, round the edges generously.

Are you able to get octagon bar or does it start as square bar then get the corners milled?

mtbr member
    other than "are you sure that'll be bright enough" my only comment would be that the lflex would have to dissipate too much heat on full with a fresh battery if it's driving 3 LEDs in series. 2 was the max George said it would take and I don't think he was terribly happy with even that. Someone with some more maths brains can give you the figures, but I think 2 LEDs are already causing the Lflex to burn off over 5W (~1V x 3A x 2) which was around its limit.

Rep Power Infinity +2
    Thanks for the comments guys.