Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Double-metric mtb man

Hope Triple build...am I on the right track (noob time)

Hey gang,

Well, with a nice new case in my future, I'm starting to think about what to stuff in it. Here are my initial thoughts and I'd like some opinions (go gentle, I'm a noob and this will be my first DIY).

Case: Deesta's CNC'd job with the original fins
    LED's: 3 x Cree XR-E R2's (20mm stars, I'm assuming) wired in series
    Driver: bFlex (I'm going to see about throwing 1A at the LED's, so I'm assuming the cool white R2's)
    Battery: I'm basing this on other info... min 14.4V (3.7V (Vf) @ 1A x3 LEDs + ~1V for the bFlex). Not sure on the size, but I'd like to see 3hrs min. run time on full, likely NiMH. Suggestions?

I'm rough guesstimating that it should have a nominal 825 lumen output...a serious upgrade from my 15W halogen (~300-375 lumens).

I'm just wondering about optics...Deesta has indicated Ledil LC1 will fit, I'm just wondering about suggested beams...2x6 degree and 1x15 for some spill?

Anyway, any and all thoughts greatly appreciated.
    As if four times wasn't enough-> Psycho Mike's 2013 Ride to Conquer Cancer Page

Moran? Let your opinion be free -> F88me

mtbr member
    Hey Mike,

My casing is based around the 20mm stars. I'm running mine @1A too, really strong light. I'm using LC1's...2 x spot, 1 x medium but I have a few optics off Troutie so will try a 3 x Spot and 2 x medium 1 x spot to see how it compares. Will stick up some photo's when I've had a chance to do it

I'd go for a Li-Ion battery if possible, batteryspace supply them or smudgemtb on here does them but shipping to Alberta could be an issue from the UK...

You'll get all the help you need off here, I'm a relative noob too...this is my 1st build too

Steve

mtbr member
    As I have finished all my builds and to stop the creative spirit from drying up I am messing around with Deestas proto housing with a view to putting 3 MCE in there to see if it will cope .