mtbr member
    Jun 2010

total noob, could use some input on a DIY idea

I have a bike I use for utility/grocery getting type of stuff, and would like a bit of illumination. no doubt there are a ton of ready mad options, but like all the rest of you here, I like to do my own thing at times.

with this bike, I dont think I need much throw. it will be pretty much exclusively city use, with ambient lighting around, nothing off road, and not very fast paced. I have a knock off magicshine, and do not come close to outriding the usable distance. I am thinking I would much prefer a bit more of a flood type of light, like a fog lamp.

looking around, I found LED off road type fog lamps that seem to fit the bill. the plan is to mount one of these down low on the front rack. the specs say it will run on 10v to 30v, and draws 1A at 12v and 0.5A at 24V. I was hoping it might actually run at 9.6V or maybe even 8.4V, thinking fewer cells but larger capacity.

so my questions:
    what are the chances this would work on 8.4 or 9.6?
    would I have to see the driver inside first to know this?
    if it does work, how big of a draw might I be looking at?
    how big of a battery would be recommended?
    other thoughts/ideas?

thanks,
    Cam

Workin for the weekend!
    Buy a Magicshine, it's the best $60 you'll spend. Messing around with a DIY setup is more trouble tan it's worth...

No talent hack
    Nov 2010
    Don't listen to Todd, you wouldn't be in the DIY section if you didn't want to play. Besides, Magicshines are not know for their fill/flood... much less there knock offs like you already have.